Eat: Ballpark Cafe

8 Apr

This week, encouraged by some lunchtime tweets, I decided to try out a new downtown restaurant — the Ballpark Cafe.

Located on Tulare, within walking distance of Chukchansi Stadium, the Ballpark Cafe is a perfect little spot to grab a quick bite on your way to a Grizzlies game, particularly if you don’t feel up to paying stadium prices for what is essentially the same food (hot dogs, burgers, french fries).

The staff at Ballpark is super friendly — shouting hello as you enter, and being very helpful with menu suggestions. As I’d not been in before, the guy at the register suggested I try out one of their specials, a 99-cent hot dog with mustard, onions and tomatoes. I also ordered a side of fries and a Diet Coke, my total coming to $5.24 (most of the combo meals run about $5.99 to $7.99).

The hot dog was  … okay. Not great. The bun was toasted, which I like, but the hot dog tasted exactly like the ones at the Chuk, which, when you think about it, is about right.

The fries were shaped like steak fries, but super crispy. They also were just okay.

The Cafe itself is all decked out in baseball paraphernalia, and, with its orange tables and mustard and ketchup squeeze bottles, certainly has an old-timey themed diner feel to it.

There are two pennants above each table. I noticed the Giants/As table too late.

The televisions show -- what else? -- baseball games.

Families! Eating downtown! In the middle of the day! Midweek!

The upstairs area is available to rent. There's a pooltable ...

... plus video games and a couple of tables.

The guy at the cashier gave me a 50% coupon for next time (told you the staff was friendly), so the first Grizzlies game I attend, I’ll head back and try out a sandwich.

This isn’t really a place I’d recommend if one were looking for a great meal downtown, but if one were looking for a place to eat en route to a baseball game, I’d definitely say eat at Ballpark, grab a beer three doors down at Brazil, then have a great time with the Grizzlies.

(For another review of Ballpark Cafe, check out Fresno Bites.)

6 Responses to “Eat: Ballpark Cafe”

  1. fresnobites April 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Thanks for the link back and nice review. Spot on.

    • heatherinfresno April 9, 2011 at 6:54 am #

      Thanks, so was yours. Very impressive photos, too.

  2. brodiemash April 11, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Is this in the old Coney Island place? I like arcades!

    • heatherinfresno April 18, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      I think so, though I never went to Coney Island (and sadly never will).

  3. james April 19, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Kim and I went yesterday – loved it. Exactly what I hoped it would be, though it makes me wish the food at the ballpark were half as good.

    Also, fried pickles FTW.

    • heatherinfresno April 26, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      Okay, I’m gonna have to try those fried pickles. What else did you order? Hot dog, sandwich or burger?

Leave a Reply

