Eat: Adiós, chili season

1 Apr

If I was any kind of responsible blogger, I would have published this post weeks ago, when it was all rainy and cold, and hearty bowls of hot deliciousness made sense. Instead, I’ll post this Vegetarian Chili recipe as a goodbye to blustery weather, bulky sweaters and thick, warm soups.

I found this recipe on the Food Network site (again, I know: ugh) when I was looking for something relatively healthy yet filling. It’s from Robin Miller, who, if I recall, has some show about making an entire week’s worth of meals out of one piece of chicken or something like that. I changed up her recipe a bit because I know no one in my family would consider eating chili with couscous in it, and because it’s chili, so you can put whatever the hell you want in it.

Disclaimer: I am in no way a huge chili fan, so when it comes to real chili flavor, I don’t know my ass from my elbow. I just like this recipe because you basically throw everything in a slow cooker and let it sit all day, plus it’s chock full of vegetables and beans so, like I said, relatively healthy. In fact, for those trying to go vegan, I’m pretty sure this recipe fits the requirements.

I suggest you check out the original recipe and then make variations based on what you like. This is the way I make it:

Vegetarian Chili

Combine in a slow cooker:

1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes

2-3 cups vegetarian broth (decide how soupy you want your chili and then eyeball it)

1 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 15-ounce can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 cup corn (frozen or canned, drained)

1 cup chopped onion

1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped

2 cloves garlic

1 tablespoon minced jalepeno peppers (I use jarred)

2 tablespoons chili powder

2 tablespoons oregano

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1-2 teaspoons hot sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Cook on high for three to four hours or on low for six to eight. Top each bowlful with shredded Monterey Jack (or don’t, if you want to keep it vegan-friendly) and chopped cilantro.

One Response to “Eat: Adiós, chili season”

  1. bradley April 8, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    mmmmmm, chili. i make a pretty awesome black bean veggie chili.

Leave a Reply

