Eat: Toast with Goat Cheese and Berries

7 Mar

A while back, when I decided I was tired of not fitting into my pants, I bought Jillian Michael’s Master Your Metabolism Cookbook. After trying a bunch of recipes, I realized the book was terrible — for the most part, it seemed as though someone had put together the recipes without actually testing them. However, there were one or two things that I found pretty tasty, and this is one of them.

In the book, it’s called “Whole-Grain Toast with Soft Cheese Spread and Raspberries,” but that’s ridiculously long, so I just call it “Toast with Goat Cheese and Berries.” Here is the recipe from the book:

1/2 ounce soft goat cheese, or part-skim ricotta, at room temperature

1 1/2 teaspoons nonfat plain Greek yogurt

Pinch of ground black pepper

1 slice whole-grain bread

1/3 cup fresh raspberries

1/2 teaspoon honey

In a small bowl, place the goat cheese, yogurt and pepper. Use a fork to mash and mix the cheese and yogurt together until well combined.

Toast the bread and let it cool slightly. Spread the goat cheese and yogurt mixture on the toast. Place the raspberries in a single layer on top and mash them with a fork. Drizzle with the honey and serve.

I haven’t tried this recipe using ricotta, but I can tell you the goat cheese variation is delicious. Not being someone who can plan ahead, I’ve never let the goat cheese sit until room temperature, and it’s been fine every time. The mashing with the yogurt warms it up, I’m sure.

I also don’t use raspberries every time. After finding some blueberries at the 99 cent store, I tried those instead, and they were equally delicious. And lately, since berries aren’t really in season, I’ve been eating the toast with cheese by itself, and it is still really good and only about 160 calories or so, depending on your choice of bread.

For a quick and yummy breakfast, I totally recommend eating this with some fruit that is in season. It’s a great alternative for when you’re just not feeling cereal.

2 Responses to “Eat: Toast with Goat Cheese and Berries”

  1. traci @www.herdingsquirrels.com March 7, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    This made me so happy. Favorite line: “After trying a bunch of recipes, I realized the book was terrible.”

    • heatherinfresno March 7, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      I take it you’re not a Jillian Michaels fan. 😉

Leave a Reply

