Head(er)s Up

10 Feb

I want to explain the picture of the bird in my header. The picture is a detail from the mural located on the west side of the Econo Inn at 1828 Broadway in downtown Fresno.

In August of last year I went on a self-guided tour of the downtown Mural District, then blogged about it for the Fresno Beehive. The Econo Inn mural was my favorite, and this part, the bird behind the bars, really stuck out to me.

I don’t know who painted the mural, otherwise I’d give them credit here. I hope they’re cool with me using a photo of their work as a header for awhile. The plan is to change up the header whenever the mood strikes (or whenever I find something as vibrant as the bird).

If you haven’t been on the mural tour, and haven’t seen this work in person, I highly suggest heading out on the next nice, sunny day. The murals are all generally within walking distance of each other, and, if you go on a weekend, you’ll have the streets pretty much to yourself.

Details found at either link above.

Leave a Reply

