Seen: Pub closure (updated)

27 Jun

UPDATE: Good news, y’all. I went by the pub today and it was open. Now all of us who lamented that we never went while we had the chance can get our butts in gear and start patronizing this place on the regular.

Original: Friday night I saw the following sign on the door of the pub located at Herndon and Marks (formerly called Body in the Bog, then Moynihan’s, now with no apparent name):

Earlier in the year, the pub closed while the owner was on vacation, but the handwritten note stated the reason for the closure. This sign seems a bit more ominous, no?

6 Responses to “Seen: Pub closure (updated)”

  1. james June 27, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Interesting – I’m pretty sure the owner of that pub (well, when it was Body in the Bog, at least) owns the surrounding shopping center. I wonder if it’s fallout from Parma moving out? Not a good combo for the area, for sure.

    • heatherinfresno June 27, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      I totally agree. The shopping center lost a Longs and a Blockbuster, too (which I care less about).

      Hopefully the pub finds its way back. There aren’t many places to hang out and have a drink in these parts.

      • james June 27, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

        They also had an incredible beer selection. I just wish I was 10 miles closer at any point during my day.

      • heatherinfresno June 27, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

        The pub’s about a block away from where I live. I’m kicking myself for not hanging out there more often, instead of other places. I just couldn’t resist the lure of the sexier Tower District, I guess.

        Who knows, though. Perhaps it will reopen and I’ll have another chance.

  2. Tom June 28, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    This is a shame – I’m a little hazy on the pub’s history, but thought that the “original” owner (from Body in the Bog) had re-opened it after its stint as Moynihan’s. It was a great little pub with an awesome selection. Now that I live nearby, I’d been meaning to get back in there, so naturally it just closed down.

    Funny – when I saw the article headline, I had a sinking feeling that this was the pub of which you spoke.

    • heatherinfresno June 29, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

      That’s what I’d heard, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

